Castellania, ITL – The riders of the venerable CANYON//SRAM Racing fired the opening salvo in today’s Stage 1 of the 2019 Giro Rosa Iccrea. As a result, one of the pre-race favorites, Poland’s Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM), who fought to hard earned 7th place in the General Classification (GC) in last year’s edition, donned the first maglia rosa of the race.

CANYON//SRAM started strong over the 18 km long, mostly uphill Team Time Trial (TTT) course arriving from Cassano Spinola to Castellania, the hometown of “the Campionissimo” Fausto Coppi. With each team’s finishing time marked by the fourth rider across the finish line, CANYON//SRAM, like most of the teams in the field, took the tact of shedding two of their riders part way through the course. The quartet of Niewiadoma, Hannah Barnes, Omer Shapira, and Alena Amialiusik would finish in a time of 31’41.”

Perhaps the biggest surprise on today’s stage of the 30th edition of the Giro Rosa Iccrea, aside from remarkable commentary by Alice Barnes (CANYON//SRAM) on the jointly sponsored Trek-Segafredo and Voxwomen broadcast (more on that later), was the second place finish by Bigla. Led by Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, American Leah Thomas, Mikayla Harvey, and Elise Chabbey, the Swiss-based outfit would slot in just 25 second in arrears.

CCC-Liv paced by last year’s GC Runner-up, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, rounded out the podium. Defending race champion, Annemiek van Vleuten and her Mitchelton-Scott team rode to a respectable fourth.

Double British Champion, Alice Barnes, Simply Sterling

Notably missing from the CANYON//SRAM Giro Rosa Iccrea lineup was Alice Barnes, who recently completed the difficult Road Race/Individual Time Trial double in the British National Championship. Despite her self-admission that she needed a respite after a busy June race schedule, Alice’s absence is our gain as she quite simply dominated the airwaves with her spot on commentary during the jointly sponsored Trek-Segafredo and Voxwomen broadcast. Her insights into each team and each rider personalize the entirety of the women’s field, which will hopefully bring new fans to a sport that still operates on the fringe because of its lack of real-time television coverage. Subscribe to the Voxwomen’s YouTube channel today.

General Classification After Stage 1

  1. Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM)
  2. Hannah Barnes
  3. Omer Shapira
  4. Alena Amialiusik
  5. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Bigla)
  6. Leah Thomas
  7. Mikayla Harvey
  8. Elise Chabbey
  9. Ashleigh Moolman – Pasio (CCC-Liv)
  10. Marianne Vos

Next Up – Stage 2 – Viù to Viù (78.3 km)