Coincidentally, on the day that the 106th Tour de France celebrated perhaps cycling’s greatest racer, Eddy Merckx, with a Grand Départ in Brussels, the rider many consider to be his equivalent in the women’s field, Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) took flight on the difficult uphill finish in Viù to claim Stage 2 of the 30th edition of the Giro Rosa Iccrea. Vos would lead a Dutch sweep of the day’s podium with reigning Giro Rosa Iccrea champion, Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) coming in second, and Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb) finishing in third. Current Olympic and World Champion, Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) would finish just off the podium, seconds behind her Dutch compatriots.

On another hot day, the peloton tackled the 78.3km route that started and finished in Viù. The day’s action was mostly provided by several strong breakaway attempts, with the pair of Romy Kasper (Ale-Cippolini) and Kelly Van Den Steen (Lotto Soudal Ladies) offering up the most serious threat. The two would build a lead of approximately 3 minutes before the peloton would reel them back in to contest the finale.

On what could be best described as a short punchy climb to the finish, Marianne Vos had no equal once she decided to go. She would cruise to victory raising her arms in victory several meters from the finish line.

Results – Stage 2 Viù to Viù (78.3 km)

  1. Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv)
  2. Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott)
  3. Lucinda Brand (Team Sunweb)

The General Classification saw its first major shuffle after the Team Time Trial on Stage 1. Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM) retained the overall lead despite being caught up in a crash during Stage 2.

General Classification After Stage 2

1. Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM) – 2’47’37”
2. Omer Shapira (CANYON//SRAM)+12”
3. Alena Amialiusik (CANYON//SRAM)+19”
4. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Bigla) +24”
5. Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) +35”
6. Ashleigh Moolman – Pasio (CCC-Liv) +45”
7. Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) +47”
8. Leah Thomas (Bigla)+47”
9. Elise Chabbey (Bigla) +47”
10. Amanda Spratt (Mitchelton-Scott) +53”

Jersey Leaders After Stage 2

GRUPPO BANCARIO ICCREA Maglia Rosa – Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM)
SELLE SMP Maglia Ciclamino – Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv)
EFFEBIQUATTRO Maglia Verde – Sofie De Vuyst (Parkhotel Valkenberg)
Maglia Bianca – Juliette Labous (Team Sunweb)
Maglia Azzuro – Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segfredo)

Next: Stage 3 – Sagliano Micca to Piedicavallo (104.1 km)